Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter
JSD_strip_01.jpg

RELEASE DATE:
PUBLISHER:

TRADE PAPERBACK:

LANGUAGE:

ISBN-10:

ISBN-13:

CATEGORY:

April 20, 2021

Tor/Forge (Macmillan)

480 pages, 5 3/8" x 8 1/4"

English

1250236347
978-1250236340

Adult Science Fiction
 

Available in trade paperback, ebook, and audiobook

 

THE LAST WATCH

THE DIVIDE SERIES - BOOK ONE

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J.S. Dewes's fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now it’s collapsing―and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels―the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake, commanding the Argus, has no resources, no comms ― nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted.

They're humanity's last chance.

MARKETING CAMPAIGN

  • National print and online publicity campaign

  • National author tour

  • National print and online consumer advertising, including Goodreads, Book Riot, The Mary Sue, and Den of Geek

  • Early-reader review campaign via Shelf Awareness, Goodreads, and NetGalley

  • ARC mailings to top indie stores and industry bigmouths

  • Prepublication buzz campaign, including trade and consumer advertising

  • Digital marketing campaign, including author guest posts, social-media promotions, and sweepstakes

  • Digital preview

  • Featured in the ongoing Tor 2021 debut campaign, featuring group AMAs, Debuts After Dark, interviews, and video content

  • Cross-promotions with Macmillan Audio

  • Tor.com promotions, including excerpts and review

  • Extensive library marketing campaign

PUBLICITY:   torpublicity [at] tor.com

AGENT:   Tricia Skinner, Fuse Literary

PRAISE FOR THE LAST WATCH

An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe.”

— Megan O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon

“Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you.”

— Jasper T. Scott, USA Today Bestselling Author

 

“The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come.”

— Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

 

More fun than that time The Expendables, the Dirty Dozen and all of The Night’s Watch all got picked up by a random quantum tear in the fabric of spacetime and shot out the edge of the universe to kick ass and save humanity.”

— John Birmingham, author of the Axis of Time trilogy

 

“Take the action of Marko Kloos' Frontlines novels, mix in the intricate world building of Game of Thrones or Warhammer 40,000, and light the fuse. . . . Bursting with snappy dialogue and detail and furious with action, you’ll want to catch your breath when it’s over, and then you’ll want more. Bring it on.”

— Dayton Ward, bestselling author

 

A scary edge-of-reality setup, cool martial-arts tattoos, interesting time anomalies, and OMG! The Universe is contracting!? Clear your schedule, because once you've gotten on this roller coaster, you're not going to want to get off until you've ridden it to the end.”

— Emily Devenport, author of Medusa Uploaded

 

The Last Watch has it all! Risky orbital maneuvers! Knife fights with grotesque aliens! Mysterious ancient artifacts! Secret royalty! Tragic backstories! It's classic military space opera with a touch of the cosmic.”

— David Levine, winner of the Andre Norton Award for Arabella of Mars

Permission granted to use.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS

BIOS

SHORT

J. S. Dewes has a bachelor of arts in filmmaking from Columbia College Chicago and has written scripts for award-winning films, which have screened at San Diego Comic-Con and dozens of film festivals across the nation.

MEDIUM

J. S. Dewes has a bachelor of arts in filmmaking from Columbia College Chicago and has written scripts for award-winning films, which have screened at San Diego Comic-Con and dozens of film festivals across the nation. A creative a heart, she enjoys video games, drawing, photography, graphic design, and all things visual. The Last Watch is her debut novel.

LONG

After graduating from Columbia College Chicago with a degree in film production, J. S. Dewes went on to serve as cinematographer for independent films, write, produce, and shoot a zombie musical, slay internet dragons, and act as lighting designer for presidents and presidential-hopefuls so many times it became mundane. Having grown weary of such pedestrian exploits, she decided to begin forging worlds in the form of novels, returning to her roots in science fiction and the written word.

She currently resides in Madison, Wisconsin with her husband, who’s proven to be a mixed blessing, but he makes her laugh, so she’s decided to stick it out. They have two dogs (full blessings) and a cat of unpredictable demeanor. The Last Watch is her debut novel.

 

ARC / GALLEY PHOTOS

Click the        in the right corner to download.

  • JSD_insta
  • JSD_facebook
  • JSD_twitter
  • JSD_pinterest
  • JSD_goodreads

Home  //  Books  //  About  //  Blog  //  Connect

© 2020 J.S. DEWES