Web Analytics Made Easy -
StatCounter
JSD_strip_01.jpg

NEWS & REVIEWS

TRADE REVIEWS

⭐️ BOOKPAGE

“A great concept with an even better execution, this is a sci-fi space opera for readers looking to dial up the excitement... A strong, straightforward concept anchors a fun cast of characters that always seems to have a quip or a retort ready to go. I had a great time from cover to cover. The Last Watch is a delight.”

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"A group of likable rogues race to stop the universe collapsing in Dewes’s gripping space opera debut . . . Dewes fluidly interweaves complex worldbuilding with a fast-moving plot and satisfying character development. This should win many fans."

BOOKLIST

"The Last Watch is a bravura debut that blends great action with compelling characters."

⭐️ LIBRARY JOURNAL

"Dewes’s debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers’s “Farian Wars” series and John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will welcome this military science fiction thriller."

BOOK LISTS & ARTICLES

Den of Geek.jpg

DEN OF GEEK

"J.S. Dewes’ debut sci-fi novel combines the allure of the frontier with the dedication of the Night’s Watch."

JSD_Goodreads2021.jpg

GOODREADS

MOST ANTICIPATED SFF 2021

The Last Watch was named one of Goodreads' most anticipated science fiction and fantasy novels of 2021.

jsd_bookbub__.jpg

BOOKBUB

"When it comes to space opera, the words you want to hear when people describe the story include “epic,” “gripping,” or “amazing” — all of which have been used to describe Dewes’s debut . . . An impossible task and a spaceship filled with wild cards combine for a fantastic read."

Amazon Article.jpg

AMAZON BOOK REVIEW:
TOP 5 SFF OF APRIL

“Hard science, tough action, and well-timed shots of sarcasm make this sci-fi debut a must-read.”

My Post.jpg

THE NERD DAILY

The Nerd Daily rounded up the top 10 books that are currently the most anticipated science fiction and fantasy releases (excluding new installments in a series) of 2021 according to Goodreads members!

Amazon Best__.jpg

AMAZON EDITORS:

BEST BOOKS OF THE MONTH

The Last Watch was selected as an Amazon Editors' Picks for Best Books of the Month, April 2021!

JSD_NetGalleyWeAreBookish.jpg

NETGALLEY:

WE ARE BOOKISH

"A group of Sentinels fight to save the universe in this space opera debut. They’ve each been exiled and their punishment is to guard the Divide, but when the Divide begins collapsing they’re the only hope humanity has."

 
 

REALMS OF MY MIND

APRIL 15, 2021

"The Last Watch reminds me of a big popcorn space disaster movie, and I mean that with all the love in my heart... Things can go sideways in an instant, and the tension of watching characters race down a corridor to get to safety or trying to time a particularly tricky flight maneuver they have ONE shot to get right invokes the same fun adrenaline rush."

TONSTANT WEADER

MARCH 19, 2021

“The Last Watch is incredible. It is fast-paced and relentless. I love the sense of real jeopardy that is omnipresent. This is a book about trusting the knowledge and experience that informs your gut."

FANFIADDICT

TRAVELING CLOAK

MARCH 1, 2021

“As spectacular a science fiction story as one is going to find. From a plot that is full of drama to amazing characters that are relatable and interesting, all over a backdrop of a futuristic space setting, The Last Watch is nearly flawless.”

THE PRIMM LIFE

JANUARY 14, 2021

“A fantastic debut novel. Big ideas, great characters, and universal collapse make for a fun, fast read. I can’t wait to see where the Divide series takes me.”

GRIMDARK MAGAZINE

APRIL 4, 2021

"The story combines likeable rogue characters, interesting scientific speculation, and some subtly great, unpretentious writing into a very entertaining space opera . . . Dewes uses the science to create a good ol’ fashioned sense of wonder that harkens back to classic speculative fiction."

FANFIADDICT

DAVID W.

MARCH 15, 2021

"The Last Watch is my pick for science fiction debut of the year. Dewes has written a masterwork space opera that needs to be on bookshelves world-wide. Epic, character-driven sci-fi goodness that is the cure for your Expanse hangover."

THE SPINE VIEW

FEBRUARY 16, 2021

"An excellent blend of characters and action that makes it a thrilling read and has established Dewes firmly in the category of authors to watch in the Sci-Fi world."

AMAZING STORIES

APRIL 1, 2021

"You’ll find echoes of Ender’s Game, every Trek series ever, The Game of Thrones, and The Expanse… A strong mix of high-intensity plot with some real character conflict. Highly Recommended."

ERYN LASBELIN

MARCH 2, 2021

"Whether you’re looking for some science-y sci-fi, compelling and well-rounded characters, or just a few space battles, this is the book for you. With a first entry as awesome as this one, I’m already anticipating that this will be a new favorite series."

RACCOON AWARDS

JANUARY 20, 2021

“From the opening chapter to the final line, there’s so much to unpack, to explore, to lay awake at night thinking about… This is a fantastic sci-fi that may be one of the best books coming out this year.”

 
JSD_strip_01.jpg
  • JSD_insta
  • JSD_facebook
  • JSD_twitter
  • JSD_pinterest
  • JSD_goodreads
  • JSD_youtube

Home  //  About  //  Books  //  News  //  Events  //  Blog  //  Connect  //  Press Kit

© 2021 J.S. DEWES